UBot Underground

How to Error Check Each Sub Properly

After much time asking others here how to make more stable and trustworthy code, I've finally figured out the formula to make exactly that... And I'm no programmer, so I thought I'd put this chart together for other newbs/non-programmers here on exactly how to properly code parts of your bot so that every part of your bot fires off correctly and everything actually gets done.

The secret is to split up every chunk of functionality into its' own sub first, and then code the following in each:

post-625-12755061117398_thumb.jpg

If you don't use the optional node there, it will still keep looping until the job is done in the case of non-successful-completion. If you Do use that optional node before the work/Now sub, then you can check to see if data exists first before running that sub... So you don't accidentally reproduce any work. (As in the example of my cron job there, and in many other cases where you don't want to double your work.)

It does take a little bit of creativity at times when you finish a chunk of code that results in no clear "success" message. But if you think hard about it there is always a way.

I've just run a bot with 42 chunks of functionality in it (Chunk Example: Filling out a whole form and submitting it) with this around each chunk, and all fired off perfectly with no duplications and no skipped chunks!

With this missing piece of knowledge mastered, I finally feel like uBot is starting to do what I bought it for... To create working custom apps.

Hope this helps!

Luke

• Like 3

I'm gonna merge this one with 'Streamline your headache - Create Error reports while you build!' if thats okay with you Luke? Might change the topic of them to something combined

Great stuff anyways

I'm gonna merge this one with 'Streamline your headache - Create Error reports while you build!' if thats okay with you Luke? Might change the topic of them to something combined

Great stuff anyways